North Winnipeg Nomads

WWCFL Press Release

Thursday April 2, 2015 

The Western Women’s Canadian Football League is pleased to announce that the Winnipeg Wolfpack will host the 2015 Championship!


On July 5th 2015, the first-place teams from the Western Conference and Prairie Conference will battle each other to win the WWCFL Championship at Investors Group Field, home of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The Winnipeg Wolfpack, now in its fifth year of existence, is excited to bring the Championship game to their home this year. Partnered with the North Winnipeg Nomads football club, the Winnipeg Wolfpack attracts players from all areas of the city and they are one of two women’s football teams in Manitoba.

The Western Women’s Canadian Football League is proud to have eight teams competing in three provinces in western Canada. Alberta is home to the Lethbridge Steel, Calgary Rage, Edmonton Storm, and Grand Prairie Northern Anarchy, and the Alberta teams form the Western Conference. In the Prairie Conference, Saskatchewan is home to the Saskatoon Valkyries and Regina Riot, while Manitoba has two teams in Winnipeg, the Manitoba Fearless and the Winnipeg Wolfpack.

The 2015 season starts with Exhibition Weekend on May 3rd, and the regular season begins on May 9th. In addition to the regular WWCFL season this year, players will have more opportunities to showcase their skills at the 2nd National Challenge Cup, to be held in late July of this year. In this three-day tournament, Football Canada welcomes female football players from across the country to participate as representatives of their respective provinces. Looks like 2015 will be another great year for women’s football in Canada!

For more information on the WWCFL, please visit:

For more information on the Winnipeg Wolfpack, please visit:

For a tour of Investors Group Field, please visit: